Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Lone senior and libero Ashlyn Leon (#18) represented the current Otterbein volleyball team in the alumni match at Homecoming.
Lone senior and libero Ashlyn Leon (#18) represented the current Otterbein volleyball team in the alumni match at Homecoming.

Otterbein athletes bring home special hardware and awards after successful 2021 seasons

Men's and women's soccer and volleyball finish the season with special accolades

The OAC (Ohio Athletic Conference) announced their 2021 All-OAC Teams for men’s and women’s soccer and volleyball with 16 Cardinals bringing home awards.

The women’s volleyball team brought home six total OAC awards including a ‘Player of the Year’ award. The first team recipients included Carlie Craycraft and Morgan Hartman. Amber Greely received second team and seniors Julia Vermilion and Emma Linehan collected honorable mention awards.  

Craycraft also became the first setter in 15 years to receive the OAC “Player of the Year” award for the Cardinals.  

After a successful season, the women’s soccer team collected eight OAC awards including four standout awards. The first team recipients included forward Delaney Earl, midfielder Bailey Zanella, defender Payton Kaufman, and defender Regina Severance.  

Senior goalkeeper Alaina Reher and midfielder Aubrey Zanella followed with second team. Lastly, midfielder Grace Weidenhamer and forward Morgan Somers collected third team recognitions.  

Three women Cardinals were selected for standout awards that included senior Delaney Earl “Forward of the Year”, sophomore Payton Kaufman “Defender of the Year”, and freshman Bailey Zanella, locked in “Midfielder of the Year” and “Freshman of the Year.” 

“It was a great honor to receive an award like that, but that’s definitely more of a team award rather than individual,” Earl said. “There’s no way I’d be able to succeed on or honestly off the field without the 31 girls behind me.” 

The men’s soccer team received seven recognitions from the OAC committee. Forwards Will Isaac and Gabe Sharrock, midfielder Drew Holman, and defender Nathan Neal landed themselves on first team. The third team recipients included midfielders Joshua Conroy and Mark Wischmeyer, and goalkeeper Andrew Mccllvoy.  

In addition, Jason Griffiths was voted Co-Coach of the Year, this being the second time Griffiths has been honored the award during his first five years at Otterbein. 

Today's Lineup
12:00-6:30am Alternative
6:30-7:30am Money'$ Morning $how
7:30-10:00am Alternative
10:00-11:00am Money'$ Morning $how
11:00am-1:30pm Alternative
1:30-2:30pm The Everyday Alina Show
2:30-4:00pm Alternative
4:00-5:00pm Sophia's Sleepover
5:00pm-12:00am Alternative
Weekly Where and When 3.25.wav Transcript
The Chirp
This field is required.
Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2024 T&CMedia